My 10 Book Challenge…

So, thanks to Bryn Goodman (@bryngoodman) I have been nominated to list 10 books that have meaning or significance to me.

Here goes (in no particular order):

10 Michael Rosen’s ‘Sad Book’

A more poignant and beautiful piece of writing about something so tragic I don’t think you’ll find. It is wonderful to behold.

 

The Terbulent Term of Tyke Tiler – Gene Kemp

I remember this from Primary School, the style is unusual, the plot is easy to identify with if you were at secondary school in the 70s and 80s. Tyke’s character is so well developed from the very beginning to very end.

 

The Invention of Hugo Cabret – Brian Selznick

Quite a modern book, but the way the author combine literary and visual story telling is wonderful – just like watching a silent movie. It also led me the the work of Georges Melies in late 19th century cinema. Brilliant.

 

The Watertower – Gary Crew

The most suspenseful picture book you will ever read. Your questions never quite get answered!

 

La Gloire de mon père – Marcel Pagnol

5 Le Château de ma mère – Marcel Pagnol

The next two go together as Marcel Pagnol’s autobiographical tales of his childhood. The reason I include them is that they are books that I can proudly say I have read in french.

 

Reaper Man – Terry Pratchett

This was the 2nd book by Terry Pratchett I read. It was after this that I realised I was hooked. I have since read EVERY discworld title (except the most recent two) at least twice. #massivegeek

 

The BFG – Roald Dahl

In my opinion Dahl’s best book. Others argue. It doesn’t matter. Dahl gives a reader free range to use every silly voice you can create and if you don’t read the BFG with an outlandish West Country voice, you are doing it wrong!

 

The Woman in Black – Susan Hill

I read this as a core text for GCSE english – it was terrifying and I loved it. So much so I haven’t watched Daniel Radcliffe’s film as I don’t want to be let down.

 

1 The Goalkeepers Revenge & Other Stories – Bill Naughton

One of those books that a boy read at Primary School. Spit Nolan and Sam Dalt felt like friends, I even tried to separate the change in my pocket using pieces of cotton wool. I never worked for me like it did for Spit!

 

10 Books, 10 memories, 10 moments to enjoy.

Those are my books: I nominate.

Karen Watson, Sally Watson, Steve Woodhouse @stevewoodhouse4, Elissa Vigus, Catherine Mason (@catatonic34), Stuart Spendlow (@Mr_SJS) Sorry no Penguin Pig in this list, Nigel Pantling, Jon Brown, Simon Dodge and Jonathan Fitzgerald

Any readers feel free to consider yourself nominated too!

Posted on 03/09/2014, in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

